Call for papers

Keynote Speakers







Places To Go

Organized by
Southeast University,

Co-Sponsored by
IEEE SMC Society(pending approval)
CSCWD International Working Group

Committees (Country/Region)

General Conference Chair
Junzhou Luo (China)

Conference Co-Chairs
José A. Pino (Chile)
Yun Yang (Australia)
Anne James (UK)
Jano de Souza (Brazil)
Amy Trappey (Taiwan)

Program Committee Chairs
Weiming Shen (Canada)
Jean-Paul Barthès (France)
Junzhou Luo (China)
Jianming Yong (Australia)

Special Session Chair
Haibin Zhu (Canada)

Organization Committee Chair
Fang Dong (China)

Publicity Chairs
Runqun Xiong (China)

Publication Chair
Jinghui Zhang (China)

Finance Chair / Treasurer
Kai Dong (China)

Local Arrangement Chair
Zhen Ling (China)

International Steering Committee

Jean-Paul Barthès (France)
Junzhou Luo (China)
Weiming Shen (Canada)

Jianming Yong (Australia)

Pedro Antunes (New Zealand)
Marcos Borges (Brazil)
Kuo-Ming Chao (UK)
Jano de Souza (Brazil)
Giancarlo Fortino (Italy)
Liang Gao (China)
Ning Gu (China)
Anne James (UK)
Peter Kropf (Switzerland)
Weidong Li (UK)
Xiaoping P. Liu (Canada)
Hwa Gyoo Park (Korea)
José A. Pino (Chile)
Amy Trappey (Taiwan)
Yun Yang (Australia)
Qinghua Zheng (China)

Scope of the Conference

Design of complex artifacts and systems requires the cooperation of multidisciplinary design teams. The 2018 IEEE 22nd International Conference on Computer Supported Cooperative Work in Design (CSCWD 2018) provides a forum for researchers and practitioners involved in different but related domains to confront research results and discuss key problems. The scope of CSCWD 2018 includes the research and development of collaboration technologies and their applications to the design of processes, products, systems, and services in industries and societies. Collaboration technologies include theories, methods, mechanisms, protocols, software tools, platforms, and services that support communication, coordination and collaboration among people, software and hardware systems. Related fields of research include human-computer interaction, business process management, collaborative virtual environments, enterprise modeling, security and privacy, as well as social aspects and human factors related to collaboration and design.
The major topics of interest to the conference include, but are not limited to:

-       Collaboration theory, ontology and methodology

-       Design of collaboration (methods, processes, mechanisms, and protocols)

-       Collaboration across disciplines (design science, service science and data science)

-       Innovative collaborative approaches (crowdsourcing, social media)

-       Collaborative computing (clouds, services, sensor networks)

-       Security and privacy in collaborative systems

-       Collaboration technology applications

Special Sessions

Nine special sessions are organized by Program Committee members. Please contact special session organizers directly if you are interested in submitting a paper to one of these special sessions:

-       Large Scale Modelling and Coordination for Smart Cities (organizer: Dr. Jun Shen, jshen@uow.edu.au)

-       Computer supported and intelligent analytic systems for technology innovation and IP management (organizer: Dr. Amy Trappey, trappey@ie.nthu.edu.tw)

-       Multidisciplinary Design Optimization (MDO) (organizer: Dr. Liang Gao, gaoliang@mail.hust.edu.cn)

-       Collaborative Systems & Shared Economy (Uberization): Principles, intermediation platforms & Case Studies (organizers: Dr. Bertrand David, Bertrand.David@ec-lyon.fr; Dr.  Chuantao Yin, chuantao.yin@buaa.edu.cn)

-       Adaptive Collaboration Systems (organizer: Dr. Haibin Zhu, haibinz@nipissingu.ca)

-       Sensor Networks and Internet of Things (organizer: Dr. Tie Qiu, qiutie@ieee.org)

-       Collaborative Knowledge Creation and Sharing (organizer: Dr. Hongwei Wang, hongwei.wang@port.ac.uk)

-       Collaboration in Emergencies (CollEm) (organizers: Adriana Vivacqua, avivacqua@dcc.ufrj.br; Marcos Borges, mborges@ppgi.ufrj.br)

-       Internet of Things and Smart Logistics (organizers: Dr. Giancarlo Fortino, giancarlo.fortino@unical.it; Dr. Wenfeng Li, liwf@whut.edu.cn) 

Submission of Papers

Papers reporting original research results and experience are solicited. Each paper, written in English, is limited to 6 pages (IEEE proceedings format), including references and illustrations. Electronic submissions in PDF format are strongly recommended. Submission of a paper should be regarded as an undertaking that, should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors will attend the conference to present the paper.

Submission Web Site: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=cscwd2018


All submitted papers will be reviewed by program committee members and selected based on their originality, significance, relevance, and clarity of presentation. Accepted papers will be published in the IEEE categorized conference proceedings and will be submitted for indexing to EI (Compendex), DBLP and other indexing services. Authors of selected papers will be invited to submit revised and expanded version of their papers to be considered for publication in special issues of well-known international journals.


Associate Professor Fang Dong,
School of Computer Science and Engineering
Southeast University, China
, fdong@seu.edu.cn

Important Dates

October 31, 2017 >> November 15, 2017  Paper submission due
February 28, 2018 Author notification
March 31, 2018 Final papers due
March 31, 2018 Author registrations due
May 9-11, 2018 Conference